It’s about time….

First I would like to thank you for visiting yet another blog. Mind you this isn’t just any blog with fashion tips or a chance to complain to my heart’s cotent but I hope is a valuable resource of information and beneficial time spent! I have put off doing my own blog for so long for doing others’ has been nearly a full time job however I feel there might be someone out there who likes what I have to say. Or not. Its your freedom! Theres so much noise out there today it’s hard to filter out the purposeful from the pointless and the meaningful from the monotonous however I can promise to keep it interesting and hopefully you’ll learn some and share some!

Let’s start with learning a bit about why I’m writing this, or better yet what I do. Everybody loves a good story.

A few years back while in search of my newest big adventure I took a job in the Bay Area, east of San Francisco as a live in nanny for a wealthy family of two, a father who traveled out of the country and his spoiled 8th grade daughter. While being a personal chauffeur for her and all her teeny bopper friends, doing the shopping, cooking and redecorating of the beautiful, yet horribly outdated mansion  and enduring her verbal abuse on a daily basis was most definitely a full time job, I somehow found myself wanting more.  Living in a  city like San Francisco where unassuming factories are all night raves and street parties like Lovefest and Bay to Breakers take over the whole city,  I was constantly doing something outrageous and fun in between trips to the dog groomers for the toy poodle and sitting through freezing cheer practices. It wasn’t long before I had developed connections all over the Bay and was loving the never ending parties and events. I found myself quickly working for one of the largest event production companies, Surreal SF as the assistant and promotions coordinator to the Founder and Director, Enrique Montero. We collaborated on the weekly parties as well as large music / culture events like the Exotic Erotic Ball. It was a wild and crazy event that took a lot of planning and was exciting to be apart of. Working with Enrique and Surreal really taught me the ropes of the industry and gave me incredible experience and the ability to work under any pressure or circumstances. It also taught me that the nightlife industry was best left to the experts. I was ready to spread my wings again and return to San Diego, my home, as a new bird with a new mission.

Jumping quickly into what I knew best, I took several positions as coordinator and team lead for street team marketing projects in various industries. My favorites had to be the Village Club Card Room where some of our strategy included distracting players and of course, Live Battle USA a live gaming/ lazer tag on steroids type of product that included a team of me and my hand picked, hand trained “LiveBattle Girls” facing off against the likes of the best of the ComicConners in the Undisputed Boxing Gym. This creative, team building, active and fun product became a passion of mine and I soon began utilizing new tools like facebook groups, blogs, press releases and a wide assortment of social media platforms to build a network for this new game and organically drive traffic. (To a website that has since been replaced.) It was long tedious work learning what worked and what didn’t but again it was all a priceless experience that helped guide me to the next chapter in the adventure.

After learning a thing or two about this new “craze” people were calling social media, I incorporated the promotions and marketing background I had with the modern media campaigns I was building for several new clients I had obtained through good old fashioned way of going in and introducing myself.  I combined traditional strategies with modern tools to customize marketing plans for as versatile a business as Gourmet India (4th and F) and Java Jones Coffee (9th and Market) Java Jones is a fantastic business with a philanthropic mission of providing excellent quality organic coffee and tea but only carrying 100% organic and fair trade products. Why? Because it’s the right thing to do! (Their slogan, not mine! ;] ) It really made me passionate and was rewarding to have a stake in a business that wanted to give back and support causes. It helped me see the vision of my own purpose. I had volunteered my whole life. I had even started my own non-profit with a group of friends that same year and built a school in Kenya through our grueling hard work, fund raising and events but that came with so many other hurdles and challenges I wanted to multiply my efforts to the highest exponent. I’ve never been one for math but I knew that with my PR abilities + experience with events + production + planning and promotions I could do more to help the causes that needed it in a much larger way.

Long story made only quasi long… LMH Promotions was born!

And as creative as I’d like to give myself credit for, no I couldn’t think of a better name than my initials. So please if you have any suggestions, feel free to share as I would hope you will share any words you have to share.

In the past few months I have been proud to work with such groups as the SD Children and Nature Collaborative, StayClassy.org, Outdoor Education Foundation, San Diego Audubon Society, San Diego County Office of Education, San Diego Open Space Parks Division and excited to work with so many more amazing groups and people in this awesome journey. Thanks so much again for reading and feel free to share this with anyone, especially those looking for help getting their cause, company or idea in full motion!

 

Be sure to check my website too for full marketing, promotions, event, web and graphics services! www.LMHPromotions.com

Peace & Love To You!

Leave a comment